Small Town Terrors: Pilgrim’s Hook Collector’s Edition Game Review

Small Town Terrors: Pilgrim’s Hook Collector’s Edition Game Review
Game Developer: Gunnar Games
Game Genres: Adventure, Hidden Object, Puzzle

Game Series

“Pilgrim’s Hook” is the second installment of “Small Town Terrors” game series. Previous game in this series: Livingston

Game Storyline

Summary Excerpt from the game’s store page over at Big Fish Games:

The only person that could bring you back to Pilgrim’s Hook has called you out of the blue. Return to your childhood home and save your twin brother from the dark forces that have invaded this coastal village. The few remaining residents of Pilgrim’s Hook appear slightly mad and something strange is happening to those that resist the call of the sea. You are the last hope in this decades long struggle between good and evil, sand and surf, and land and sea. Do you have the strength to defeat this evil that lurks beneath the ocean? Find out in Small Town Terrors: Pilgrim’s Hook.

Game Visual/Audio

There isn’t much can be said about the game’s visuals asides from that they’re amazingly well done. Pretty much the same thing can be said about the game’s audio. The visual and audio can be adjusted in the game’s option menu.


There are three different game difficulty modes to choose from: Casual, Expert and Hardcore.

There are fifteen different achievements can be earned during gameplay. Some of these achievements do have certain requirements before they can be unlocked.

There is a notebook holds all story events that had happened in the game.

There is an objective panel inside the notebook. Click on the tab it will bring up the objective panel.

There are interactive items in the game, they’re marked with a symbol, but sometimes these interactive items do require extra items before they can be interact with.

The interactive map allows the player to fast travel between each location quickly. It also indicates there are tasks that needs to be done at certain locations. The map can be accessed through the notebook and outside of it. Please note that the map isn’t given immediately when the game started.

Most of the hidden object scenes consists of find “x” amount of an item and traditional word list. Some of them do require little or no interaction.

Most of the game’s puzzles are rather easy to solve without much difficulty. For most of these puzzles there’s a reset button. However, there’s definitely a skip button, for all of the puzzles. These two features are only present in “Casual” game difficulty mode.

There are twenty-five collectible sea creatures. They’re scattered throughout the entire game.

Since this is a collector’s edition game, there’s a bonus chapter, but it can be unlocked only after the main story of the game’s completed. The bonus chapter is the pre-sequel to the main story.

There’s a built-in strategy guide for the game. It can be access anytime during gameplay.


In the Bonus Content section there’s some bonus contents: nine concept art; six wallpapers; collectibles: whale bones and sea creatures; Arthur’s Journal; Achievements and Bonus Chapter.

[Please note that Arthur’s Journal and Whale Bones sections can’t be accessed right away.]

Final thoughts, I definitely enjoying playing this game all the way through to the end. However, there’s one thing that would make traveling less tedious is having a map that fast travel ability. As for the replay value I would say is low. I would recommend this game but not at the full price.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s